ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE 'The Ripper At The Heaven's Gates Of Dark' 2xLP

Sold out

title: 'The Ripper At The Heaven's Gates Of Dark'
catalogue # REPOSELP030
format: Black Vinyl 2xLP

2LP Tracklisting :

A1. Chinese Flying Saucer (12:03)
A2. Chakra 24 (4:07)
B. Back Door Man Of Ghost Rails Inn (15:17)
C. Shine on You Crazy Dynamite (21:57)
D. Electric Death Mantra (19:22)

The renowned Japanese Cosmic freak-out heavyweights return with a brand new studio album and tour, marking ten years since their mothership first descended on the UK ....

Now a steady four piece led by Kawabata Makoto (guitar) and including Tsuyama Atsushi (bass/vocals), Higashi Hiroshi (synthesizer/guitar) and Shimura Koji (drums). The collective recorded the album in the aftermath of the Japan disaster at their mountaintop retreat where the collective still reside.

With the exception of the album's opener 'Chinese Flying Saucer' and it's unashamedly obvious musical references to Led Zeppelin II (hello 1969!) the rest of the album locks into a much more laid-back groove than on recent AMT releases. This dynamic shift is best displayed on the 22 minute jam, 'Shine On You Crazy Dynamite' and also the album's closer 'Electric Death Mantra'. The band opt for less frantic explosions of electric guitar overload and fuzz, replacing those elements with a more epic, blissed-out and at times brooding Japanese psychedelia, with more emphasis on acoustic guitars, sitar, organ, synthesiser and at times, really trippy vocals (most prevalent on 'Back Door Man Of Ghost Rails Inn'), recalling the twisted psychedelics of early Pink Floyd. Yet still, their sound remains so expansive that it is easy to become totally immersed in this album.

Epic in proportions, cloaked in a cosmic haze and shimmering in a synth utopia. 'The Ripper At Heaven's Gates Of Dark' maintains AMT's status as masters of out-of-this-world music and reveals their darker side of the moon.

Double vinyl edition limited to 500 copies for the world and features slightly different sleeve artwork.


Acid Mothers Temple & The Melting Paraiso U.F.O. at the time of this recording were ...

Tsuyama Atsushi : monster bass, voice, soprano sax, cimpo flute, soprano recorder, acoustic guitar, cosmic joker

Higashi Hiroshi : synthesizer, dancin'king

Shimura Koji : drums, latino cool

Kawabata Makoto : electric guitar, electric bouzouki, sitar, organ, percussion, electronics, speed guru

Recorded at Acid Mothers Temple, Japan
Produced & engineered by Kawabata Makoto
Digital mastered by Yoshida Tatsuya
Members photo by Justin "God" Waters
Photos by Kawabata Makoto
Art work by Shigeno Sachiko

Special thanks to Ghost Rails Inn (